If You Could See Me Now

If you could see me now,
You ask.
Would I beckon life for a freeze?
To dig into it’s unreachable compromise
In search of the slate
That was you and I?
I have.

In countless of times touched
The depth of what seemed a perfect tie
Only to come out
Bruised and shaken to a sight that lacks
The sunshine in your smile.

In memory,
I have the very sound of your departure.
Those footsteps would rapture
The veins in my eyes
Blinding the sight of your return
And the fabric of a cold you still
A nightmare to my palms.

In my days dark
I’d light to flame the poetry you’d written
Comprehending too deeply
A start so sweet preyed by a tragic ending

How did I not see the edges
of hell in the heaven you presented?

If you could see me now you ask.
I am a thousand wild seas
Sunbathed by thunders of a sailer stranded
I am a rainbow of ruins
Upon a sky of odium
My heart,
a cave from the once had and now gone
Gone and gone into the sails of strange men.

Here you stand returned.
Asking if you could see me now
Here I am,
Having only the taste of your touch
Standing in contrast to the chambers you’ve had
If I could see you now
Would the contours on your body
Remember its painter?
How long should I kiss your lips to remember.
To dismember the pleasures
I never took part?

Yes!
This broken heart is not for mending
And if you could see me now,
This is what you made-
A world war of a human

The longing for a once more less humid
Dry with cracks of love forgotten
And if for a minute you’d think your
Tears would water me back to a forest
That was us
It wouldn’t hurt to tell you
Of how I turned your scars to this face I wear.

If I could see you now,
In all the emptiness you look like
In all the chaos I’m running from
There’s nothing imagined
That could bring to heart my broken touch.

3 thoughts on “If You Could See Me Now

  1. I like the strikeness of this “I have the very sound of your departure.
    Those footsteps would rapture
    The veins in my eyes”

    The imagery and metaphors, and the way you’re trying not to be wordy but worthwhile.

    Like

  2. I love the piece because I can relate to the feeling and that you have found a way to paint emotion in a way that was not verbose …I think I must appreciate that for an artist to in the consistency of beautiful artistry find in himself a harmony with ugliness of hurt and pain and play the better and worse of both bad and good it is worth he or she must be quite the artist as are you kudos

    Like

Leave a Reply

